Life By The Seat Of My Pants

Mixed MEdieology Monday 5/20/13 – How To Turn A Dress Into A Skirt

Posted on: May 20, 2013

Do I have a treat for you this week!

Normally, when I share a project, the video is done in time lapse, the blog post gives the simple step – by- step and I show a photo or two. This week’s project is different because I have decided to share it as a FREE Mini – class! Exciting huh?????

Because I had to sew this piece, I knew I wouldn’t be able to share it in time lapse and I really wanted you to be able to see and understand what I was doing. So, I am offering this weeks project as a sample of how my classes are run. My actual classes are obviously more in – depth, but this will give you a taste of my style, the amount of information you would receive and the format of how one of my full version classes are run.

I currently have a couple of classes available as self study and I will be releasing a Brand New Course this Summer. More details on what that course will be coming soon to a future blog post near youย  ๐Ÿ˜‰

Alrighty! On to this weeks project.

I found this awesome tie dye dress at the thrift store last week and I just HAD to have it! I love big, flowing skits and these colors just made me happy ๐Ÿ˜‰

DSC07483

I cut the top off of the dress, added and elastic waistband and viola’! I have an AWESOME tie dye skirt that is PERFECT for Summer!

This project only took me about 30 minutes from start to finish and that includes taking time to re-close my safety pin about 100 times!!!! You will understand that comment when you watch the video ๐Ÿ˜‰

I love this skirt and i have already worn it twice since I made it! The first time I wore it was on the Thrift Shop Thursday shopping trip where I shot the footage for the finding ofย  this dress. If that makes NO sense what-so-ever, you really need to read this week’s Thrift Shop Thursday blog post ๐Ÿ˜‰

I hope you enjoyed this mini- class and if you have any questions, please leave them in the comments section below.

Big changes are coming soon to my blog, so keep watching for announcements!

I will see you on Thursday.

Big Hugs!!!!

I would love to hear what you have to say. Leave me a comment :)

