Life By The Seat Of My Pants

Mixed MEdieology Monday 4/22/13 – Earth Day Jewelery

Posted on: April 23, 2013

Happy Earth Day!!!!!!

I try to be as kind to the Earth as I can every day, which is one of the reasons I love upcycling and repurposing items in my art. Not only is today Earth Day, but it is Mixed MEdieology Monday, which means I get to share one of those art projects with you 😀

This weeks project is an upcycled bracelet. I found a bag of plastic bracelets at the thrift store this week and I flipped one of them to create a beautiful, one of a kind accessory.

DSC07444

I covered the bracelet in book pages that had been colored with Distress Inks. While that was drying, I added alcohol inks to an old piece of broken costume jewelery and filled the center with glitter. The quote ‘Sparkle Forever’ just happened to be on the book page I used, so I knew it was meant to be the focal point of the piece. I laid a quote on top of the glitter and sealed it with Glossy Accents. There were a few spots of the original pink bracelet that did not get covered with the book pages, so I added a bit of glitter to those areas as well. Finally, I attached the charm to the bracelet with E-6000.

I wore this bracelet when I went out yesterday and I got several compliments on it. I see more of these in my future 🙂

I would love for you to share this post and subscribe to my blog.

I will see you on Thursday with more thrift store finds!

1 Response to "Mixed MEdieology Monday 4/22/13 – Earth Day Jewelery"

Thanks for sharing this technique, it turned out wonderful!

I would love to hear what you have to say. Leave me a comment :)

