Life By The Seat Of My Pants

Steampunk Mask Part 2

Posted on: April 20, 2013

After two weeks of being sick and 11 straight days of laryngitis, I am finally feeling more like my self and I have be back in my studio creating and finishing several projects.

One of the projects I was able to complete is the Steampunk Mask that I started a couple of weeks ago. I found this mask at the thrift store and I *immediately* knew what I was going to do to it! You can follow the full journey of the mask by watching the Thrift Shop Thursday video and then the Steampunk Mask Part 1 video.

Just to reacap, I sanded the entire mask and gave it a coat of black craft paint. I molded a TON of gears with resin and painted all of them black as well. This weeks video shows you everything I did after that 🙂

DSC_0452

I painted the mask with gold paint and painted all of the gears with various metallic paints. I embossed a piece of metal tape with an embossing folder and then painted it with a few washed of black paint and water. I tore the metal tape into random pieces and stuck them to the mask.

Finally, I added a couple of layers of gears, a spring and a miniature lightbulb with E-6000.

The mask already has a small gold hook on the top, so this is perfect for hanging. I totally LOVE this project, so I haven’t decided if I want to offer it for sale or keep it for myself!

If you like this project, how about sharing it with your friends 😉 You can also subscribe to this blog and my YouTube channel, that way you won’t miss any of the absolutely FABULOUS projects I share in the future   *wink, wink*

2 Responses to "Steampunk Mask Part 2"

That mask is an amazing work of art. Steampunk genius! You have amazing vision – thank you for the inspiration!

I would love to hear what you have to say. Leave me a comment :)

