Life By The Seat Of My Pants

Mixed MEdieology Monday 4/4/13 – Steampunk Mask PART 1

Posted on: April 8, 2013

I am soooooo excited about this weeks project!!!!  I am altering the mask I found at the thrift store last week and it is looking SO friggin’ cool!

I found this mask on last week’s Thrift Shop Thursday and I knew immediately that it was going to have a steampunk theme. I haven’t done a steampunk project in several months, so I am more than ready to get my gears a movin’.

This is going to be a long, multi-step project, and therefor it is taking more than just a couple of days to complete. I have already spent over four hours working on it and all I have to show for my time is a coat of black paint!

I sanded the mask to rough it up and get rid of the shine, then I applied a coat of gesso to the entire thing.Once it was dry, I gave the entire mask a coat of black craft paint.

Next, I went though my box of ephemera and pulled out everything that called to me. I knew I didn’t own near enough gears and accessories to create the look I envisioned, and I wouldn’t want to use all of my ephemera on one project even if I did!

I used Amazing Mold Putty to mold everything I wanted to make duplicates of and then cast all of my items using Amazing Casting Resin. Once I was happy with my pile of bits and bobs, I gave everything a coat of black craft paint.

That is as far as I have gotten so far! I will continue to work on the mask throughout the week and I will upload the video once it is finished.

I hope you are enjoying this process as much as I am. If you like what you see here, please share it and subscribe 🙂

I would love for you to like, share and subscribe to my YouTube channel as well.

I will be back on Thursday with this week’s Thrift Shop Thursday finds, so don’t forget to check that out.

Until then,

Big Hugs!!!!!

 

1 Response to "Mixed MEdieology Monday 4/4/13 – Steampunk Mask PART 1"

I just love it when a find turns into a plan… And WORKS…… This is WORKING!! and love the music you chose for the video!!! your loyal fan…rosebudinnh

I would love to hear what you have to say. Leave me a comment :)

