Life By The Seat Of My Pants

Mixed MEdieology Monday 3/25/13 Hand Painted Tyvek Bag

Posted on: March 25, 2013

This weeks project was sooooooo simple to make! I was able to complete the entire bag in less than two hours (including drying time) which is some kind of record for me! LOL!

DSC_0292

I picked up a few Tyvek envelopes from my local post office and cut them apart. My bag is made with three envelope, but you could actually make it with just two. I just chose to not use the seamed side of the Tyvek envelopes. For the handle, I cut the ends off of the belt I got from the thrift store last week and stitched them to the inside of the bag.

DSC_0294

I didn’t know it at the time, but I should have sealed my paint before sewing the bag. When I flipped it inside out after sewing, some of the paint started to chip. If you make one of these, be sure to let it dry completely and then seal it before sewing.

I have already used this bag to carry some art supplies to a friends house and it works great! The Tyvek is extremely strong, so I don’t have to worry about the bag tearing or falling apart if I put heavy items into it.

DSC_0296

I love that I now have a personalized bag that I can use over and over again. I’m sure it will be a conversation starter!

I hope you enjoyed this project and I would love to see YOUR hand painted Tyvek bags. Leave me a comment with a link to see your finished projects. If you liked this post, please share it and tell your friends 🙂

Until next time,
BIG HUGS!!!!!!

7 Responses to "Mixed MEdieology Monday 3/25/13 Hand Painted Tyvek Bag"

another amazing fun project Eddie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Genius!! This is an incredible idea – well done!

Can you use any kind of paint?

You sure can Samantha! I primed my envelopes with gesso, but you don’t need to. I was using regular acrylic paint, but you can use craft paint, ink, watercolor or anything else you want. I have tested every medium I own on Tyveck and it takes ANYTHING you can throw at it. Treat it like you would any other paper or canvas. Let me know if you have any other questions 🙂

What are the measurement that you used?

Hey XOXO,
All I did was cut the front off of a standard size priority mail Tyvek envelope for the front and one for the back (2 pieces @ 11.5 X 15 inches). I cut a third envelope in half and used those for the sides (2 pieces @ 5.75 X 15 inches) and bottom ( 1 piece @ 5.75 X 12.5 inches).
I hope this helps. Let me know if you have any other questions 🙂

I would love to hear what you have to say. Leave me a comment :)

