Life By The Seat Of My Pants

Up For Grabs! Overcoming The Fear Of Putting My Art Up For Sale

Posted on: February 27, 2013

I want to try selling some of my art, so like many people, I have an Etsy shop. I have had said Etsy shop for MONTHS now and even though I have  been to my shop several times in the past few months, I have never listed a single item. I don’t know if it’s out of fear or doubt or sheer laziness, but I have never been able to finish a single listing and put my art out there for the world to purchase. I share my art on Facebook, my blog, on my weekly webshow and in my classes, but I have never placed my art up for sale and I REALLY want to take that step. At long last, the time has come for me to send my little art babies out into the world so they can spread their wings and fly. It really is like being a mother and sending your kids out into the world for the first time! Wow, I had no idea this was going to be so emotional.

*Breathe…… *

Soooooo….. because you are my peeps…….. and you know me……… and I love you…….. and trust you…… I have decided to offer my art to you first. (Holyshit,holyshit,holyshit….. I’m really putting it out there. For the world. And these pieces mean so much to me! But I must let them go and bring joy to their new homes <3)

Plus, on the practical side, I need a schedule and some accountability to get this stuff actually listed at some point this year! This is where you come in 😉

Here is what I have decided to do – Each week I will list three items in my Etsy shop, (I know that doesn’t sound like alot, but have you ever tried to list anything on Etsy??? It is a looooong process!) but before I list the items on Etsy, I will offer the pieces to all of you… AT A DISCOUNT!

I will run those three items here on my blog, on Facebook and on Twitter for one week at a (SERIOUSLY) discounted price. If they have not sold by the following week, I will then add them to my Etsy shop at full price. This will help me to FINALLY fill my shop, PLUS it gives me a chance to test the waters with people who already support me.  It’s a win-win!!!!

So, without further adieu, here are the first three items UP FOR GRABS!!!!

All prices include shipping within US. International shipping cost will be adjusted.

Click on a photo to enlarge

“Roots and Wings” $6

Mixed media painting – 2″ X 4″  canvas with wings attached to the sides. Total width 3 inches.

acrylic, collage, glitter, paperclay wings

DSC07373

“Spiral Dance” $12

Mixed Media Painting – 12″ X 12″   ‘cake board’

Acrylic, glitter, microbeads

DSC07375

“Swing” $ 40

3D Mixed media painting – 11″ X 14″ canvas with Paperclay doll attached to the front. Depth of painting approximately 3 inches.

acrylic, paperclay, fabric, metal chain

DSC07377

DSC07372

Feel free to ask any questions about any of the pieces you see here. To purchase any of the pieces you see here, please email me at mixedmedieology@gmail.com

Please share this post with your friends!

I will be back tomorrow with yet ANOTHER new weekly segment!

See you then!

5 Responses to "Up For Grabs! Overcoming The Fear Of Putting My Art Up For Sale"

WOOT WOOT!!! Look at you grow!! I am SO proud of you!!! Worst case scenario is that nothing sells – that situation wouldn’t be any different than before you put stuff up for sale – right? You’ve got NOTHING to lose here and TONS to gain. Be patient – TRUST the universe – make the leap – and just know that you are never alone!

CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!! I love the spiral one 😉

This is just fantastic! Very inspirational and I may be following in your footsteps soon!

Oooooh, good luck Beth!!!!

I would love to hear what you have to say. Leave me a comment :)

