Life By The Seat Of My Pants

Strawberry Heart Cupcakes – My Very Own Pintrosity!

Posted on: February 17, 2013

I L-O-V-E  Pinterest. I love being able to pin all of the awesome things I find on the internet and I love that those pins take me back to the exact spot I originally found it. I could spend HOURS just browsing and being inspired by all of the amazing things people pin. I have boards for art inspiration, health and beauty  and… recipes.

I have been waiting for six months to make one of the recipes I have pinned and with Valentine’s Day being tomorrow, I was finally going to get my chance to make it! The original pin showed these delicious looking cupcakes that when cut would display a perfect, plump, heart shaped strawberry in the center.

cupcakes

I thought these would be super cute to make for my husband for Valentine’s Day, so I bought the ingredients and got to work. I am a pretty proficient baker and cook and these cupcakes looked pretty simple, so it never occurred to me that there might be specific directions for making these cupcakes or that I would need to follow said directions.

I mixed up the batter, filled my cupcake pan and put a strawberry into the center of each cup before baking.  I baked the cupcakes for 20 minutes and pulled them out of the oven to cool before removing them from the pan. After they cooled for a few minutes, I began moving them to a wire rack to finish cooling and that is when I realized I had done something TERRIBLY wrong.

2013-02-13 19.41.37

Every single strawberry had turned to mush and the entire bottom half of the cupcakes were slimy and falling apart! That is when it dawned on me that when you put strawberries in the oven…. THEY COOK!!!! We didn’t dare eat the first batch. I just threw them away and RAN to my pinterest board to find the directions!

I found the recipe and immediately realized where I had gone wrong. You are supposed to bake the cupcakes FIRST and THEN you cut a hole in the center and fill it with a strawberry…….. DUH!

2013-02-13 20.48.51

I made a second batch, following the directions and got MUCH better results. Still not like the photo I saw on Pinterest, but waaaaaaaaaay better than my first attempt!  🙂

2013-02-14 18.15.54

I love Pinterest but I also LOVE Pintrosity.  For those of you who are unfamiliar with Pintrosity, it is a site for people (like me) who attempt to make or do things we see on Pinterest but FAIL miserably. We share our flops and fizzles on the Pintrosity site and we don’t feel so alone in our disastrous endeavors. Plus it is a great way for people (like me) to help other’s not make the same mistakes! I think this DEFINITELY qualifies as a Pintrosity super fail!

Her are a few tips I discovered along the way.

1) Bake the cupcakes BEFORE adding the strawberries!

2) Let the cupcakes cool COMPLETELY before carving the hole in the center.

3) Try to make your strawberries look as much like a heart as you can before inserting them into the cupcakes. I cut the tops off in a V shape to achieve the heart effect.

4) Try to place all of the strawberries into the cupcakes facing the same direction and try to keep them facing that direction as you frost them, that way when you cut into them, you have the best chance of getting the heart shape.

If you have any Pinterest success or big fat failure stories, I would love to hear them 🙂 Leave me a comment and tell me all about it. You can also follow me on Pinterest.

NOTE TO SELF – Next time, check for directions BEFORE attempting to do anything you see on Pinterest!

See you all next time.

BIG HUGS,

Edie

1 Response to "Strawberry Heart Cupcakes – My Very Own Pintrosity!"

I LOVE that you shared this! Well done on the second batch – I would not have even attempted it.

I would love to hear what you have to say. Leave me a comment :)

