Life By The Seat Of My Pants

Head In A Bag

Posted on: October 23, 2012

31 Days of Halloween – Day 17

Today’s post was inspired by a picture I saw on Facebook. The picture was of a girl walking down the street with a drawstring bag hanging from her wrist. The bag looked as if it was carrying a severed head because there was a face protruding from the inside out. As soon as I saw it, I KNEW I had to make one!

You can watch the video walk through below.

 

The outside of the bag is burlap and the lining is green cotton. I created my pattern and sewed the outer bag and lining bag separately.

I added more prominent features to a paper mache’ mask that I had by adding paperclay to the lips, cheeks and nose.

I inserted the face in between the outer bag and liner and glued it into place. I stitched the top of the bag and added champagne colored ribbon for the drawstring.

I have to admit I am thrilled with how it turned out and I LOVE the looks I get when I carry it around. It is a full size purse and since I sewed it on the sewing machine, it is extremely sturdy.

If you are interested in purchasing a head in a bag, please leave me a comment and I will get in touch with you.

See you tomorrow!!!!!!

 

3 Responses to "Head In A Bag"

Do you remember which you tube video you seen the original one in? Would love to see it also. This is so radical I intend to make one myself but would like to see the other one to see what materials it was made from. This would be cool in a soft leather also. Good job by the way!

Kat,
The original idea came from a still shot I saw on Facebook. There was no video. I did a Google search and I was able to find the original image that inspired me. It looks doesn’t look like you can actually USE the bag that inspired me, but here is the link. I would love to see your bag if you make one 🙂 I hope this helps.
http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://cdn3.purseblog.com/images/yael_mer_head_hand_bag_beige.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.purseblog.com/novelty-bags/head-hand-bag-by-yael-mer.html&h=284&w=400&sz=147&tbnid=J4Pvva1FF_5zhM:&tbnh=90&tbnw=127&zoom=1&usg=__yeVjgF59qalVaSxO35dFW6DmIS0=&docid=ZrmPGPrIfvNsmM&sa=X&ei=TjqpUPOdGoTeqgGAkoHgBg&ved=0CEgQ9QEwBA&dur=2116

I would love to hear what you have to say. Leave me a comment :)

