Life By The Seat Of My Pants

Fluttering Leaves – Mixed Media Painting

Posted on: October 4, 2012

31 Days of Halloween – Day 4

While this painting is not technically Halloween, it is fall themed, so I wanted to share it with you today.

I collected some freshly fallen leaves from the maple tree in my yard and I preserved them by pressing them between sheets of wax paper and heating with an iron.

I painted a 14 X 18 canvas with black paint and glued on my girls face using matte medium. Her face was drawn on sketch paper with Prismacolor pencils and I painted her hair directly onto the canvas with acrylic paint.

I used beeswax to further preserve my leaves and adhere them to the canvas. I sprayed inks and splattered more paint over the waxed canvas.

I used matte medium to adhere my text  “Every leaf speaks bliss to me, fluttering from the autumn tree.”

I carved swirls into the wax and went over the entire painting with metallic gold fluid acrylic mixed with water.

I apologize for the glare in all of the photos, but the iridescent paint shines no matter what angle I shoot from.

Thanks for stopping by. See you tomorrow!!!!

 

1 Response to "Fluttering Leaves – Mixed Media Painting"

lovely technique 😉

I would love to hear what you have to say. Leave me a comment :)

