Life By The Seat Of My Pants

LOTR Witch King Helmet Base

Posted on: October 3, 2012

31 Days of Halloween – Day 3

My son, Christopher, has decided he want’s to be the Witch King, from Lord of the Rings, for Halloween. I always make his costume and this year will be no different. I have no idea how it will turn out, but I am going to give it my best šŸ˜€

In case you are unfamiliar with LOTR, this is the guy he want’s to be.

I started working on the helmet and gauntlets on my LIVE show yesterday. You can watch the recording here. You can watch me LIVE every Tuesday on http://www.thingscrafty.com

I will be video taping the whole process as I go along.

After sizing, placing and cutting a new template, I glued it to a cheap plastic king’s crown that I cut the prongs off of.

This is where I am at with the helmet. It still has a loooooong way to go, but I am happy with the structure of it so far.

See you tomorrow!!!

2 Responses to "LOTR Witch King Helmet Base"

Looks awesome. Could you post a digital template?

Thanks Shreyas,
I’m not really sure how to go about creating a digital template. I free hand drew this one and it is full size, so I don’t even know of a place with a scanner large enough to scan it. There are more photos of the finished helmet and how I got to that point on other blog posts after this one. I will look into creating a digital template, and if I am able, I will post it and get back to you šŸ™‚

I would love to hear what you have to say. Leave me a comment :)

