Life By The Seat Of My Pants

“Night Owl” Mixed Media Painting

Posted on: September 28, 2012

Hello and welcome to the Creative Paperclay and Amazing Mold Putty Blog Hop!!!!! We have got a ton of amazing Halloween/Fall projects to share with you and some very sweet blog candy to give away!

For your chance to win some tasty blog candy, simply look at each blog in the hop, then visit the Amazing Mold Putty Blog and vote for your favorite. We will have three prizes and THREE winners! The prizes up for grabs are – one Package of Creative Paperclay, one small box of Amazing Mold Putty and one box of Amazing Casting Resin. The Design Team member who’s project gets the most votes will also win a prize, so I reeeeeeeally hope you will vote for me ;D

You will notice a little blue faced linky guy at the bottom of this post. If you click on him you will find the entire list of blogs in the hop. Be sure to visit each blog and don’t forget to vote for your favorite (meeeee!) project.

This blog hop is sure to get your creative juices flowing, so sit back, grab a cup of hot cider and enjoy the hop 😀

I picked up this set of fabulous steampunk owl stickers and I knew I wanted to use them in my project. I molded the largest owl in the pack using my Amazing Mold Putty and because I had extra space around the sticker, I added a few other little goodies in there while I was at it.

Once my mold was set, I used Creative Paperclay to make my owl. After my owl was completely dry, I painted all of his features and the gears with acrylic paint.

I laid a few pieces of cheesecloth on a 4 X 6 canvas and painted my background. Before the paint was set, I removed the cheesecloth, leaving behind some fabulous texture! That texture became the tree for my owl, as well as a second tree in the background.

I painted the moon and added a clock stamp to the center, then I glued my owl into place using clear tacky glue.

I love using Amazing Mold Putty and Creative Paperclay® together because you can remake anything you can mold. I hope you like this project and don’t forget to vote for me when you get to the Amazing Mold Putty Blog ;D

Enjoy the rest of the HOP!

18 Responses to "“Night Owl” Mixed Media Painting"

What a fun idea.. love it

I think my favorite part is the full moon steampunked with the clock face.

Wow, that steam punk owl is too cute!

LOVE YOUR OWL!!!!! Especially the wings!

This works on so many levels, fall, halloween, steampunk, well done. I love the wings 2.

very cool – the ‘steampunk’ wings details are fun!

Super cute!!! Love the steampunk owl…so creative 🙂

I LOVE THIS! I love the Owl! One of my fav things in the world and the moon..AWESOME JOB!

what a neat idea to mold stickers!

wonderful I just gotta try this

Wonderful owl

I love this project–from the way you made the trees (which look so cool and realistic) to the clockwork owl and moon. Beautiful *and* evocative of an eerie autumn night!

Very cool molding stickers 🙂

What a neat idea!

I would love to hear what you have to say. Leave me a comment :)

