Life By The Seat Of My Pants

Fairyland BLOG HOP

Posted on: August 7, 2012

Welcome to Leslie-Rahye’s Fairyland BLOG HOP!

At the bottom of this post you will find the links to everyone who is participating in this awesome blog hop.

You can view the full video tutorial below.

This cute little fairy started as  a wire armature completely covered in Creative Paperclay®. Once she was dry,  I painted the entire thing with acrylic paint in portrait pink, then used a flesh tint to paint the shadows and white for the highlights. I painted all of her facial features and dress using acrylic craft paint in metallic peridot and napa red.

I cut a small piece of lace for the base of her skirt. I added several strips of yarn and ribbon, to give it a bit of flair and whimsy, then glued it in place.

I have these really unique, “fairy wing” leaves that fall from the tree in my front yard. I coated both sides of the leaves with melted bees wax, and then attached them with fabric glue.

I made my own spray ink by mixing butterscotch and cranberry re-inker with water. I then sprayed a small section of undyed wool roving to get the color I wanted for her hair, then I glued it in place with more fabric glue.

For the finishing touch, I colored a chipboard butterfly sticker with glitter gel pens and glue it in her hands.

As I said, this is only part one of the entire project, so you will have to tune in next time to see the finished piece. I have already begun working on it and it is SO cute!

 

9 Responses to "Fairyland BLOG HOP"

Your fairy is adorable. I loved the video tutorial. I was wondering what her hair was made from. And her wings are so fun. I wish I had your tree in my yard, too. LOL. Thanks so much for sharing her with us..

Thanks Barbara! I *think* her hair is made from wool roving. The reason I am not sure is because I got a HUGE bag of mystery material from my thrift store. It looks like undyed wool roving to me. I cute a small piece then dyed it using homemade spray inks. I hope this helps 🙂

Love your fairy Edie ! X Fab

can’t wait for part two

great personality! congrats

Thanks, Edie. Your explanation helped a lot. I believe that is what you said you were using in the video. Really cool. I never would have thought of that.

Love your fairy, it so super cute. TFS with the tutorial.

Thanks for the video Edie! So cool and love how tiny she is!
Thank you for being a part of my fairy blog hop!

I would love to hear what you have to say. Leave me a comment :)

