Life By The Seat Of My Pants

Route 66

Posted on: May 17, 2012

I have been wanting to use my Route 66 stamp for the LONGEST time and since this Barbie justlooked like she was ready for a summer road trip, I thought it was a great combination.

I have this great book of maps from Turkey so I cut out a page and attached it to the front of an upcycled card with gel medium. Next I stamped my Swimsuit lady onto a piece of watercolor paper using Distress Ink in Black Soot and cut her out with an Xactto. I painted my lady with Neocolor II water color crayons and Prismacolor Colored Pencils. I colored all of her accessories using glitter gel pens, then finished off her  lips and eyes with Prismacolor markers.

I stamped my Route 66 stamp onto watercolor paper using Fired Brick Distress Ink, cut it out, then colored in the sign with blue and silver glitter gel pen. I printed my quote then aged the paper with Distress Ink in Tea Dye. I attached my text and images to the map using gel medium.  Even though I now have a great card to use whenever I need it, I  like it so much I may just glue it closed and attach a ribbon to the back and hang it up as a reminder to myself 😀

 

4 Responses to "Route 66"

I love it!! That looks like my first Barbie – except she had the brunette bubble cut.

Great quote! Wonderful design! ♥ Angi

I love how you layered swimsuit lady onto a map page. Great idea.

This is such a fun card. All the details you put into it make this a real stunner! Great Job! TFS!

I would love to hear what you have to say. Leave me a comment :)

