Life By The Seat Of My Pants

Love Your Mother – Upcycled Earth Day

Posted on: April 21, 2012

It’s that time again, time for one of Leslie Rahye’s blog hops, and this time we are are celebrating Earth Day. All of the projects on this hop will be upcycled or recycled which is right up my alley!

I feel a spiritual connection to Mother Earth, so Earth Day is close to my heart. For this blog hop I upcycled an old button and I also created two tags with an upcycled manila folder.  I love the way all three of these projects turned out and I want to share some upcycled BLOG CANDY with YOU! I am going to make another one of these tags for the winner so leave me a comment for your chance to win!!!

On my Ustream show this week I created my projects and I had planned on adding the playback to this post so you could see the piece come together, but unfortunately, due to technical difficulties, it was not recorded.  I really love this button, so I may make another one and I will BE SURE to record it if I do!

This button started out as a “Team Edward” (yes, from Twilight, and yes, his picture was on it) button  but we don’t really need to talk about that 😉 I gessoed the button, added texture paste to the ‘land’ areas and painted my background with acrylic paint. I painted my little Mother Earth, added glitter and wrote the text white acrylic paint.  The little hands are made from Delight Clay® that was cast in a mold and then painted with Neocolor II’s.  Any button will do, but I like to upcycle the ones I get for free at events or stores.

For the tags I cut a manila folder into fourths and cut out my tag shapes. I dripped some alcohol inks onto my non-stick mat and swirled the tags around to ink them up. I added acrylic paints with a brayer and stamped my images. The final touches were added with a white Gelly Roll pen and the words were written with a white-out pen. Both tags are double sided so be sure to scroll all the way down to see all of the images.

TAG 1 SIDE A

TAG 1 SIDE A

I am so happy with how these turned out and I hope you like them as well.  Be sure to check out the rest of the fantastic projects on the hop. All you have to do is click the little linky blinky’s at the bottom of this post and they will take you through the blog roll 😀

Happy Earth day!!!

TAG 1 SIDE B

TAG 2 SIDE A

TAG 2 SIDE B

._inlinkzLinkDiv{overflow-x: hidden; overflow-y: hidden; text-align: center; padding-top: 0px; padding-right: 0px; padding-bottom: 0px; padding-left: 0px; margin-top: 0px; margin-right: 0px; margin-bottom: 0px; margin-left: 0px; }._inlinkzI{}._inlinkzA{text-align:center;}

18 Responses to "Love Your Mother – Upcycled Earth Day"

I love those tags- thanks for sharing

LOVE the button makeover!!! Your tags are beautiful. Great post… TFS!

Love the Mother Earth Button – Great job 🙂

Love the button – especially those little hands (lol)! And the tags are fabulous!

loving your button and tags!I really like the white detailing on the tags.

Quited cool…thanks for sharing, too!

Really love these Edie!

Love this button, it’s brilliant and the colours phenom ! X Fab

Love the button and the colours used are phenom ! X Fab

Really cute ideas.

Thanks for sharing your wonderful projects. I love the recycled button. I have a basket full of them that have been crying out to be artfully reborn. My favorite part is those little hands hugging the globe! Happy Earth Day : )

that is great…love it!

Love your button idea. And your tags turned out pretty darn cool, too.

Super cute button!

THis ia fun and creative. My kids would love to make that button. TFS

Oh, your art came out great! A group of us from where I’m at participated in the Global Art Project for Peace – I’m going to write a blog post about this probably next week. I hope you’ll come see! I’ll share on FB too. We are showing our peace this weekend at a local Earth Day Festival.

WOW! Thank you! 😀 I would love to read the post and share it as well. Will you please leave email me a link when the post is ready? I will share it everywhere I can. Thanks again!

I would love to hear what you have to say. Leave me a comment :)

