Life By The Seat Of My Pants

The Littlest Hat Shoppe

Posted on: April 5, 2012

Bonjour!

This is my first Viva Las VegaStamps! Design Team post and can’t wait to share it with you.

When I got my first Design Team goodies, I was so excited to see a plate of rubber filled with hats 🙂 I instantly knew I wanted to create a hat shop to display them in! All of the adorable little hats can be found on plate #1115. I used top hat on stand, flowered hat on stand, and flowered veil on stand. I also used decorative frieze for the table.

You can view the full video tutorial below 🙂

I found a baby board book at my local thrift store and cut out the middle of four pages to create a shadow box in the book. I gessoed everything that would be seen and glued all of the pages together.

Next I painted the entire book using Neocolor II water soluble wax pastels.

I drew the outline of my store front on my cover then painted all of the details using acrylic craft paint.

Using JUST the flowered hat band of the veil , I stamped the flowers onto tissue paper using Distress Ink, then glued them into the flower box and added the finishing touches with paint.

I painted a strip of Titanium Buff acrylic paint, stamped the decorative frieze stamp with Distress Ink and glued them into the cover to serve as the display table.

Next I stamped my  hats on stands onto watercolor paper and painted them using Neocolor II’s and glitter gel pens. I attached the hats into the shadow box using puffy adhesive mounts and glued the remaining hats on the display table with tacky glue. Then I went around the edge of each hat with a black marker to give it some depth.

I printed out my text and added color with Distress Inks. I glued the title. Chapeau is French for hat… in case you were wondering 😉

Lastly, I drew a decorative border around the frame of the shadow box with white marker and purple glitter gel pen and around the shop sign with white marker only.

Viola’!The Littlest Hat Shoppe 😀

I hope you enjoy this project because I think it is adorable!

You can always find great project ideas at the VivaLasVegaStamps! blog.

Au revoir!

2 Responses to "The Littlest Hat Shoppe"

[…] Littlest Hat Shoppe – Viva Las Vegastamps! E die Cournoyer has posted a tutorial showing how she made a shadow box from a baby board book, and decorated it using Viva Las […]

Hats off to you, Edie… love the video tutorial with just the music… no words needed.

I would love to hear what you have to say. Leave me a comment :)

