Life By The Seat Of My Pants

Love Cast In Clay My Way

Posted on: January 31, 2012

I’m so happy you stopped by to join me on my first blog hop!

For  those of you who are unsure what a blog hop is – all you have to do is check out each of the fantastic creations we made using Creative Paperclay® and Amazing Mold Putty®. There will be tutorials so you can try them for yourself  🙂

We even have blog candy to give away! Just leave a comment for each of us and follow each of the blogs and you will be entered to win a 16oz package of Creative Paperclay® and a package of Amazing Mold Putty®. There is even a blog roll so you can click right through to see them all. That’s it! Simple right?

OK, now that you know what to do, let’s get started 😀

You can view the full video tutorial below. All photos can be clicked to enlarge.

I have to admit; I went a little crazy with the Amazing Mold Putty® and ended up using my ENTIRE box in one night! I had the 2/3 lb box and I was able to create 25 molds which is pretty impressive. That stuff really IS amazing 😀

I didn’t want to waste a single bit of the Amazing Mold Putty ®, so I removed the extra little bits from around the edges of my molds and used it to mold some of the smaller items. That made some of my molds “ugly” but I’m ok with that because it didn’t affect the mold AND I got even more molds overall.

Once the molds are set they stay flexible which makes getting the dried Creative Paperclay®  out of them a breeze. I was even able to remove some of the cast items before the Paperclay was completely dry which makes making multiples much faster.

For this project I coated the entire tin box in gel medium to seal the original rusty goodness, then I used acrylic inks and acrylic craft paint to give it a bit more shine.

This is the original box with no paint

I cast several Creative Paperclay® keys, key holes, gears and a clock face. I painted all of the items with several colors of metallic acrylic craft paint including bronze, patina, silver and two shades of gold.

I attached the text with gel medium and the Creative Paperclay®  embellishments with tacky glue.

The quote on the outside of the box says “A soul mate is someone who has locks that fit our keys and
keys to fit our locks.”

The quote on the inside of the box says “My heart to you is given: Oh, do give yours to me; We’ll lock them up together, And throw away the key.”


For the heart, I rolled out more Creative Paperclay® and embossed it using a Cuttlebug embossing folder.  I painted the heart with the same colors as the other embellishments and placed it into the clock face then filled the clock with Mod Podge  Dimensional Magic.

This was such a fun project and I can’t wait to use my molds again and again 😀  I hope you try using the Amazing Mold Putty®  and Creative Paperclay® together in your creations.

Be sure to leave me a comment and then check out the rest of the blogs in the hop. Leave each of them a comment and don’t forget to follow each of our blogs for your chance to win some awesome blog candy!

You can always find great projects and ideas at the Creative Paperclay® blog.

22 Responses to "Love Cast In Clay My Way"

it compliments, appeals to a lot to me

So many cute things to make so little time lol

Amazing, beautiful, filled my head with ideas! I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, your video!

ok…this is genius! LOVE all the steampunk trinkets you have molded!

I love the gears and the watch!! Great Steampunk!

I just love your project! Wonderful tutorial too.

This is so fun!!!

What a great project. Love the steampunk. Thanks for sharing.
Jody

You are so amazingly CREATIVE!!!!

That is amazing!!!

It is addictive I LOVE it and have just walked around looking for stuff to mold! lol! I’ve bought stuff just so I can mold it later! Your steampunk box is wonderful! love all the keys and locks!

amazing–thanks for the video!

This is awesome! Making molds of screw heads was brilliant.

Edie I love your project ! you are amazing ! I don’t have the time to go to the others blog of the hop but I love this “steampunk” project. I am myself on a creative endeavour in science-fiction. May I find love on my way. I relate to your theme !

I just wanted to let you know I also started losing weight again thanks to the video of your course and the new dream business I have and my enthusiasm to follow my dream. Blessings to you

Great project – love the steampunk 🙂

Holy smokes!!!! I likey!! Thanks for the vid…loved the music you played!

Edie…I loves you so much I nominated you for the Kreativ Blogger Award 🙂
http://akissofbliss.wordpress.com/2012/02/09/praise/ ♥ GeLa (LOL)

Too cool!!! Thank you so much Gela! 😀

I would love to hear what you have to say. Leave me a comment :)

