Life By The Seat Of My Pants

Day of the Dead

Posted on: October 11, 2011

It’s getting close to HALLOWEEN!!!!!!

The weather is getting cooler, the days are getting shorter and strange things are beginning to happen, Bwahahahahahahaha!!!!!!

I pulled my Halloween decorations out of the attic and started decorating the inside of the house this weekend. I normally go all out in the front yard as well, but since my husband will still be in Bahrain (he usually stays home and passes out candy) I have decided not to put any of my yard decor out this year. I don’t think it’s fair to have a creepy yard and no one giving out candy  😦

This is what my yard usually looks like. Notice the heads in the plant pots  😀

*note – ALL photos can be clicked to enlarge*

     

We got a good start on the decorating and I hope to have it finished early this week because I REALLY need these totes out of my living room! I will be sure to post pictures of the village once it is completely set up and ready for viewing. I am still trying to find a black light that will illuminate the village but not look out of place because my string of purple Halloween lights just aren’t doing the job.

I have also been seeing some amazing art from others who are also getting into the spirit of the season. I have seen so many inspiring ideas and new projects I want to try!

One of the prompts going around right now is “Day of the Dead” and as soon as I saw it, I KNEW I wanted to create a piece to share. My first skull girl is an art journal page with faux flower and Creative Paperclay embellishments.

                            

I liked her so much, I decided to make more Day of the Dead inspired artwork, but this time I wanted to make it on canvas. I also recorded the process and you can watch it below 😉

I think she is absolutely FABULOUS!  This piece also has faux flowers and  Creative Paperclay  ‘sugar skull’  embellishments. I have one more Day of the Dead piece in mind that I will begin working on tonight and  I will share it with you when it is complete.

I would *love* to see what YOU are creating! Leave me a comment with a link to your spooky, cool and awesome Halloween creations so I can ooooOOOOooooohhhhhh   and   aaaaaaAAAaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhh  over them 😉

Enjoy!

 

5 Responses to "Day of the Dead"

I love your journal page and canvas! The canvas is my favorite :)) Until now I hadn’t heard of paperclay and now I want some HAHA!!! Thanks for sharing your video! I’m addicted to art videos! Your decorations are super cool, and the heads in the pots are the icing on the cake, that is such a clever idea!

Hopefully soon I will have some spooky art to share =D

Ande,
Thank you! I had never heard of Creative paperclay® until May of this year myself. You can see my first experience with it here… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XEmHz87MAt0

AWESOME video!!!!!! tfs!

Lyneen, I’m glad you liked it 😀

[…] The remaining photos and video are of some of the Day of The Dead paintings I created last year. Here is a peek, but you can view the full post and accompanying video tutorial HERE. […]

I would love to hear what you have to say. Leave me a comment :)

