Life By The Seat Of My Pants

Home At Last Mixed Media Painting

Posted on: November 8, 2012

For those of you who don’t know, my husband is in the U.S. Navy and he has been deployed for the past eight months. Before this eight month deployment he was stationed in Bahrain for two years and was only home for one month before this deployment began. For most of the past three years we have been apart, but when he returns home from this deployment, he will be HOME for good…we hope :)
In anticipation of his homecoming, I was inspired to create this painting as a gift for his return.
You can view the full video tutorial below.

I collaged my canvas with a mixture of sheet music, book pages and scrapbook paper. I added alternating layers of Titan Buff and Van Dyke Brown until I reached the desired look and color.

Next, I gessoed a textured wall paper sample, then added layers of Peridot and Antique Copper craft paint. I also applied some Sennelier oil pastel in red gold to bring out more of the texture, then I sponged on some Moss Green Distress Ink.

Once all of that was dry, I sanded the surface of the wall paper sample and the canvas with a sandpaper block and glued my house onto the canvas with clear tacky glue.

For the roof of the house, I added texture paste to the inside of the little paper information corner thingy (yes, that is the technical term) that came on the canvas and stamped into it while it was wet. I also added masking tape and texture paste to the outside edges of the roof to give it more stability and texture. You will notice the battle I had with the sticky masking tape in the video :)

I painted the roof with more of the Peridot and Antique Copper and glued it into place with clear tacky glue. I painted the windows and door onto the house with Van Dyke Brown.

I added stamping to the canvas with the Antique Copper as well as black Archival Ink, then I added a few more layers of Titan Buff and Van Dyke Brown.

I printed out my quote “And each heart is whispering, ‘Home, home at last'” and sponged on Moss Green Distress Ink. I attached the quote to the canvas with matte medium, then added some shadows with brown water color paint.

I painted a piece of lace with a wash of Antique Copper then a second wash of Iridescent Gold Acrylic Ink, then glued it to the canvas with clear tacky glue.

I printed out the deployment and ship information and glued it to some chipboard. I sponged on Moss Green Distress Ink and cut out the plaque. I coated the entire surface of the plaque with Glossy Accents and the attached the plaque to the canvas.


I will be making a series of these “Home” paintings and I will even be donating one to the ship’s family support group to be given away at the night before party.

If you are interested in purchasing one of these Home paintings, please email me at
ediecournoyerartist@live.com

Only a few more weeks and my husband will be home, home at last <3

Remember, you can always hang out and chat with me on my LIVE SHOW every Tuesday at 11:00 am. (EST) Ask questions, see demos and art along with me and the rest of the Crafty Link Design Team! You need to be a member of the FREE Tuesday Schmoozeday group to chat. It is easy and free to sign up, plus you can take part in all of the other activities and groups on the site.

4 Responses to "Home At Last Mixed Media Painting"

I love the sentiment behind this

Dearest Heart! This made me weep all the way through it. You know, I know. Oh that all our deployed men and women could have such a good woman waiting at home for their sweetheart. I so honor you. I am so proud of who you are. xoxoxo Carol.

Glad he’s finally coming home! I’m sure he’ll love this!

Amazing gift – love seeing your creative powers at work!

I would love to hear what you have to say. Leave me a comment :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers

